Amendment to New York State's "Megan's Law"
Effective July 1, 2002, an amendment to New York State's Sex Offender Registration Act, commonly known as "Megan's Law", directs the Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) to notify State University of New York Police Departments if a registered sex offender enrolls at or is employed by the SUNY campus.
Under this law, there are three levels of risk, based on an offender's risk of re-offending: Level 1 (low), Level 2 (moderate) and Level 3 (high). As a general rule, the sentencing court will determine an offender's risk level at the time of sentence (in probation cases) or when the offender is released from custody (in jail or prison cases). All sex offenders must register annually for a period of at least 10 years. Offenders who are classified as "high risk" (Level 3) must register for life unless judicially relieved of that obligation and also must personally verify their address with local law enforcement every 90 days.
If Buffalo State receives any such notifications from the DCJS, the campus community will be notified that a sexual offender is on campus and the level of risk assigned to the offender by the courts. The information will be disseminated to the campus by the following means:
- announcements will be placed in the university Bulletin and Record Newspaper
- e-mail notices will be sent to all students, faculty, and staff
- a notice will be placed on the University Police web site
Additional information may be found at the following links:
Back to Top
Some content on this page is saved in PDF format. To view these files, download Adobe Acrobat Reader free. If you are having trouble reading a document, request an accessible copy of the PDF or Word Document.